A Mutating Perspective

I knew the second I snuggled into my couch to write this blog, my infant would wake up, as if babies have some sort of sonar for a mother relaxing. I would then stare deep into his screaming face, begging him to stop screaming, for lately, it seems as though my infant is always screaming.

 

I visited with my mom about my frustrations this morning.

 

“It’s like they are doing it on purpose. As soon as one is quiet, the other has a problem. I am so tired. I just want to take a 10-minute nap.”

 

Perhaps she was using her infinite wisdom, or maybe just her brutal honesty, when she responded, “They’re just kids. It’s what they do.”

20170216_083847

 

Wow. Um… Thanks for the sympathy?

 

I think back to my conversations at church last night, while I ranted and raved about my little non-sleeper.

 

I joked, “My husband and I just don’t make babies who sleep.”

 

I complained, “I just want to sleep in my bed for once.”

 

I bartered, “I would do anything to get this baby to sleep.”

 

I think what I was really doing was searching for someone, anyone who would understand.

 

Because with this second baby I feel as though I am facing yet another year of lonely, dark, long nights, my frustration has been building, as my patience has been dwindling.

 

20170213_102153I think back to last night, up every 20 minutes with my little one. This was of course after making sure my husband felt as guilty as possible for leaving me to tend to our child alone while he got a restful night sleep, as if it is his fault our baby has colic.

 

I pleaded with God constantly throughout the night, “Please, please, please just give me one kid who sleeps. Show me what I need to do to make him sleep. Why me? Why me? Why me?”

 

And now, even as I write this, God has given me His answer. He has convicted me, and He’s not holding back.

 

I am not a victim.

 

I am a mother.

 

I am not a martyr.

 

I am a mother.

 

I am not alone.

 

I am amongst many who have lived it and many who are living it.

 

Wow. Um… Thanks for the sympathy?

 

Perspective is an important thing to maintain in motherhood. It is so easy to lose sight of what matters when we are sleep deprived and our nerves are raw. It is so easy to begin to look at our little miracles as if they are a curse, rather than a blessing.

20170204_141124

 

However, there is one thing that is truly beautiful about all this: God’s forgiveness and grace. When I fail and become a selfish woman rather than a selfless mother, my Father (He may even use my mom) will never fail to scoop me back up, show me the beauty that is in my children’s faces, and remind me that it is not about me. It is about Him and His children, who He has entrusted to me and my husband.

 

With a Godly perspective like that one, I think I can get through a few more sleepless nights.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Mutating Perspective

  1. Mom says:

    Just keep asking Him to give you that grace and perspective when it is 3:00am and that adorable little face is staring up at you. Before you can blink you will be waiting up for him, watching the clock and praying to the Lord to bring him home safe. 😉

    Like

  2. Lisa V says:

    Hang in there. I promise it gets easier, or at least just…different. When I was in the thick of things years ago, a Pastor friend of mine reminded me that being a mom was my mission. It gave me a new perspective. But it was still frustrating at 2am when my hubby was sound to sleep. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

