No Applause Necessary…

Happy Anniversary to Pursue Peace Blog!

Hmm…. For those of you who are wondering how I feel about writing just one year into blogging. The only thing I can really say is the following:

I love writing.

I love writing.

I love writing.

And sometimes I hate writing just a little bit.

When I started this blog a year ago, I had an incredible and, dare I say, unrealistic vision for it. I dreamt of being the next famed blogger, getting paid bucket loads of cash just for jotting down my ideas. I dreamt of people from all over the world drooling over my syntactically dazzling sentence structure and my even more exceptional and superlative word choice. In fact, I often considered that perhaps so many people would be begging me to write for them that my husband would retire from his job roughly 30 years early and we could buy ourselves a 10-bedroom house and raise 9 to 12 babies in it. I would write and parent and my husband would build things out of wood and parent. Life would be grand!

That’s just living the dream and I assumed it would be easy enough to achieve.

20161122_132536Alas, after 365 days of pure writing bliss, I have achieved not 1 million or even 10 million followers but a whopping 100. After I publish a post that I truly believe will change the world, only for it to be read by about 10 people, I am baffled. However, after I publish a post that was painstaking and served no real purpose other than just to publish a post, I don’t blame one soul for ignoring, or even avoiding, my artistic endeavor.

Blogging is full of ups and downs. I often wish more people would spend time reading my posts. In fact, my most frequent daydream involves the publisher of Focus on the Family giving me a phone call and begging me to write more short stories for their magazine. I promise I’m not the most arrogant person around—I just have enormously unrealistic expectations.

All I want is to be the next Flannery O’Connor, and for those of you who have not read her brilliant words: DO IT NOW. She is top-notch.

I do not even come close to taking pride in every one of my posts. There is nothing I hate more than publishing a post that I just could not perfect. I know it is not up to par, but I have no idea how to get it where I want it to be. So, eventually I just give in, hope for the best, and publish it anyway.

I often lie awake at night thinking of past posts and how they could have been made better: I should have said this, this word would have been better, I can’t believe I actually said that, etc.

All joking aside, I regularly pray that I will not forget all of our gifts are given to us by our Father and we should use them to glorify Him—this, of course, includes my writing. I have prayed countless times in the past 365 days that my blog would become as popular as the Lord wills, and that its main purpose be to encourage people in their faith. Whether God allows one million people to read my posts or just one, I know I can trust His plan for my writing and I can rest in knowing that I am doing it to serve Him, despite my desire to be the next Flannery O’Connor. It is so important to remember that we do nothing for our own glory, but for His.

Countless frustration abounds in writing a blog. A lack of motivation or inspiration is a constant battle. Negative comments must always be dodged. Frequent disappointment after receiving less than stellar feedback.  The list goes on…

Many have asked me in the past year why I write. More specifically, they have asked me why I write the things I do. I write because it is a gift I am trying to cultivate. I write because it is therapeutic. I write because it strengthens my faith. I write because I love it. I write because I just can’t stop.pencil-147130_1280

And there you have it: One year of blogging and my 60th post. Here’s to many more… J Thank you to all who have supported me!

Maybe Focus on the Family will call me during year two…

This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Applause Necessary…

  1. Congratulations on keeping it up for a year, I know how challenging it can be with a little one (and a dog;) to look after. Hopefully you’ll still make time to keep up your writing with two little ones. I know before Salome was born in May I managed to post 2-3 times a week, and now I’m down to about once. Which is just fine, savor these gone-in-a-blink-of-the-eye times, right?

    Just to let you know, I love reading your blog and get so happy when I see a new post from Pursue Peace in the reader, whether it’s a fictional story or an edifying bit of your real life. Have you ever sent any of your writing to Focus on the Family? I wouldn’t wait for their knock on your door, but you should consider submitting, and to other Christian magazines.

    Oh, my blog just turned a year old too, and I wrote a poem, ‘One Year’ using every one of my 77 post titles. It was fun! Here’s to many more years, yours and mine, God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh it is definitely challenging to post consistently. I average once a week as well and hope to keep that up when the baby arrives. I do appreciate your comments and support on my posts. It is so awesome to receive some feedback. I’ve looked into Focus on the Family and they do not accept unsolicited articles. I’ve looked into other Christian publications, but it’s just so hard to know where to start or how to go about it. I didn’t realize our blogs were close in age 🙂 I will DEFINITELY check out that poem. I am not as good at keeping up with reading other blogs as you are, but that one sounds awesome! Good to hear from you yet again! So glad to have a regular follower 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. mom says:

    You jumped in and took a chance and you may never know how God uses your blog, but He does. Yes, that was my God voice. 😇

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

